gfxgfx
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfxgfx
 
 
gfx gfx
gfx
27701 Posts in 3891 Topics by 276 Members - Latest Member: Psychobunny May 21, 2012, 07:01:41 PM
*
gfx* HomeForumHelpLoginRegistergfx
 

Recent Posts:

MEOW Donations

Please Support Us!

Please help support the website maintenance and game server costs.
Donate with PayPal!
May Goal: $40.00
Due Date: Jun 01
Total Receipts: $0.00
PayPal Fees: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Below Goal: $40.00
Site Currency: USD
 0%
 
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 27701
  • Total Topics: 3891
  • Online Today: 15
  • Online Ever: 412
  • (January 02, 2011, 07:43:56 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 7
Total: 7
gfxgfx
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.       « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Help, strange e-mails??  (Read 707 times)
FireKat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 413


Integrity First. Service before Self. Excellence.


« on: December 26, 2005, 10:04:58 AM »

Ok this is not like the normal strange spam, anyone have any ideas what the deal? It seems the other attachments listed with some of the other spam e-mails listed heading reffering to other dirty spam. Oh and by the way before you warn me I did scan the attachment on many different scaners, it's safe, but is it saying that i am trying to send spam to some one??? That's why i read it... weird.
From :? Mail Delivery Subsystem <MAILER-DAEMON@aol.com>
Sent :? Monday, December 26, 2005 10:32 PM
To :? <firekatmeow@hotmail.com>
Subject :? Returned mail: User unknown
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Attachment :? ?attach4 (< 0.01 MB)
 The original message was received at Mon, 26 Dec 2005 17:32:17 -0500 (EST)
from gw-ww.telsten.com [83.238.68.12]
*** ATTENTION ***
Your e-mail is being returned to you because there was a problem with its
delivery.? The address which was undeliverable is listed in the section
labeled: "----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----".
The reason your mail is being returned to you is listed in the section
labeled: "----- Transcript of Session Follows -----".
The line beginning with "<<<" describes the specific reason your e-mail could
not be delivered.? The next line contains a second error message which is a
general translation for other e-mail servers.
Please direct further questions regarding this message to your e-mail
administrator.
--AOL Postmaster
----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<firekat118@aol.com>
----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to air-yb04.mail.aol.com.:
>>> RCPT To:<firekat118@aol.com>
<<< 550 MAILBOX NOT FOUND
550 <firekat118@aol.com>... User unknown

ATTACHMENT reads:Received: from? mailin-02.mx.aol.com (gw-ww.telsten.com [83.238.68.12]) by rly-yb05.mx.aol.com (v108.32) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINYB53-19d43b06f7096; Mon, 26 Dec 2005 17:32:17 -0500
From: firekatmeow@hotmail.com
To: firekat118@aol.com
Content-type: text/html
Subject: Your sex is a matter of usDon?t worrySuper Viagra.X-AOL-IP: 83.238.68.12
X-AOL-SCOLL-SCORE: 0:5:108458771:11811160
X-AOL-SCOLL-URL_COUNT: 0
Message-ID: <200512261732.19d43b06f7096@rly-yb05.mx.aol.com>


 ? ?I was am planning on banning it it's, i recieve this e-mail about twice a day. But i wanted to know what ya'll think first. I don't know anyone by that name of firekat118 nor can i recal knowing anyone from an AOL address. But i'm fairly sure that this is a real failure to mail - mail delievery system.   But why do i keep getting this e-mail saying that I guess i'm suppost to be sending this one chap spam? Or is it really saying he's sending it to me but it's not working right???
« Last Edit: December 26, 2005, 10:09:40 AM by FireKat-MEOW- » Logged


Alpha=BC=
Board Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2005, 03:15:31 AM »

Wow, well, you are on someones sh*t list.  It looks like your name or username has been put on a spam list/s.  I would not have a clue on how it got there.  Could be phishing?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2005, 03:28:48 AM by THEKATZ » Logged
FireKat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 413


Integrity First. Service before Self. Excellence.


« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2005, 08:24:49 PM »

weird e-mails
Logged


VooDoo
Advanced Member
***

Karma: +4/-17
Offline Offline

Posts: 444


« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2005, 11:39:01 PM »

Actually, you have a bigger problem than that. You're getting undeliverable returned emails back, meaning that you have a trojan program using your system to send out spam for some obscure company. It's actually quite common, and most people do not know it's happening, as most of these use your system while the screensaver is running, and will go dormant when someone starts the puter back up out of screensaver mode. The hard part is getting rid of it.

Update all your spyware and AV software, then do complete scans and removals. Defrag the drives, and re-boot. Set all your securities and firewalls to High. And most of all, get some kind of hardware firewall on your system, especially if you have a broadband connection. Without a firewall, your system is an open circuit to anyone on the internet. You'd be surprised how many people are open circuits, especially the ones with a Wi-Fi. I know of several people that will drive around with a Hormel Chili can connected to a RF cable and a laptop, and log right into other people's internet LANs right from a parking lot or street. That's why I use a wired router. I'm not paying my cable bill for someone else to use, and I'm definitely not gonna let some Cialis spammer use my gaming system to mass-mail a bunch of peeps every night.
Logged

Kat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 338


« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2005, 02:25:45 AM »

It may not be spyware VooDoo.  It couuld be someone sending spam from another computer but spoofing FireKats email as the sender.  It's happened to me at least once recently and the date and time that it had the email being sent at was while I was at work with my computer turned off.   

Just to be on the safe side FireKat, do a serious check for spyware, but I'm betting it's email spoofing.  That's what you get for being on AOHELL.  ;D

VooDoo, just because someone can connect to a WiFi signal does not automaticaly give them access to your computer.  It ouldallow them to use your bandwidth, but not neccesarily log into your computer.  I will grant you that most people who have unsecured WiFi will have unsecured access to their computer, but it's not a given.
Logged

Kat

One Shot, One Kill



[img]http:
NighEve*{MEOW}*
Cleaning Lady
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +97/-31
Offline Offline

Posts: 4087


« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2005, 02:42:26 AM »

? I always keep two email addresses in my Contacts that's totally bogus.? But that dosent always help if they are feeding the addresses though you.? Uninstall your mail client then reinstall..or change IPs.? Adware or spybot may get it out.? Do a file search for cookies and delete all that you dont recognize.

I dont see your IP in there anywhere? If its not its not originating from you rcomputer.. but somewhere else, and they are using you as a return. Not much you can do about that.   
« Last Edit: December 28, 2005, 02:45:31 AM by Nigh-MEOW- » Logged
FireKat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 413


Integrity First. Service before Self. Excellence.


« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2005, 10:52:00 AM »

Here the thing i was at the fire station on my 24 hour shift when this e-mail was aparently sent and receved. 26 Dec 2005 17:32:17 -0500 (EST). I always turn off the power to my computer and cable modem. I also run windows washer, spy bot search and destroy, advast anti virus, and Ad-adware. once everyother day or so. The only fire wall i have is for windows 64. I have yet to find one that works on a 64 sytem other than the starndard windows 1.? what ya'll think? Oh and I don't have AOL, and I wouldn't have it.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2005, 02:06:37 PM by FireKat-MEOW- » Logged


Kat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 338


« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2006, 09:31:42 PM »

FireKat, it did not comefrom you or your computer.  It's a spammer spoofing your email address.  He probably sent out spam with 200 different variations of FireKat @ various ISP's.  Odds are that some of them are going to be legit addresses, and if one bounces, it may very well go back to a real person. 

Run the usualSpyBot, Adaware checks, but I'll bet they come up clean.
Logged

Kat

One Shot, One Kill



[img]http:
FireKat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 413


Integrity First. Service before Self. Excellence.


« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2006, 01:16:40 AM »

yeah thanks, i did run 3 different programs and win wash. like you said it had nothin to do with my system. i banned them and i have recieved no more daily letters since. thanks
Logged


gfx
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
gfx
Jump to:  

 

TinyPortal v1.0 beta 4 © Bloc
gfx gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!