gfxgfx
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfxgfx
 
 
gfx gfx
gfx
27701 Posts in 3891 Topics by 276 Members - Latest Member: Psychobunny May 21, 2012, 07:31:34 PM
*
gfx* HomeForumHelpLoginRegistergfx
 

Recent Posts:

MEOW Donations

Please Support Us!

Please help support the website maintenance and game server costs.
Donate with PayPal!
May Goal: $40.00
Due Date: Jun 01
Total Receipts: $0.00
PayPal Fees: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Below Goal: $40.00
Site Currency: USD
 0%
 
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 27701
  • Total Topics: 3891
  • Online Today: 15
  • Online Ever: 412
  • (January 02, 2011, 07:43:56 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 9
Total: 9
gfxgfx
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.       « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Spyware  (Read 596 times)
Zero~NBK~
Never 4get {KOW}
Advanced Member
***

Karma: +7/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 218

1ST Sergeant


« on: January 01, 2006, 08:18:59 AM »

Need a good spyware program, because i believe i have problem. My aim keeps msging people on its own, asking them to check out pictures and when you look at the file its actually a dos file.what can ditch that
Logged




Smooth*{MEOW}*
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +127/-5
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3072


« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2006, 08:56:49 AM »

Sounds like you might have a trojan Zero.  There was one a few months ago with MSN messanger that did similar activity, sending people links to viruses.  I use Spybot and Ad-aware for spyware and AVG for anti-virus and Zonealarm for a firewall.  Beyond that I'm not sure how to help you, I know one of the more tech-minded guys here will get to you soon.
Logged



Smooth*{MEOW}*
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +127/-5
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3072


« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2006, 09:03:37 AM »

This may be of interest:

http://www.aim.com/help_faq/security/trojan.adp

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.aplore@mm.html


Not sure this is your problem, but it's the first thing that popped up when I searched for AIM trojan.
Logged



NighEve*{MEOW}*
Cleaning Lady
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +97/-31
Offline Offline

Posts: 4087


« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2006, 09:30:15 AM »

Also suggest removing the offending program and re-install it.
Logged
Jugulator*{MEOW}*
I'll jug U later
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +29/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 997



« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2006, 11:35:00 AM »

spybot search and destroy, as well as adaware are the two spyware programs that are free and are pretty  much accepted as the thing to use. get them at snapfiles.com under the freeware tab, search for them. i've been using the microsft spyware beta, it's been doing a good job of keeping my computer free of spyware, its also free and it has realtime scanning, i would use spybot to clean up and imunize my system and then use the microsft beta to keep it clean., I don't know if it will scan aim or not tho.
Logged



KitKat
Advanced Member
***

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 530


« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2006, 02:04:30 PM »

Most likely a virus you picked up from a porn sites you check out. I would still get spybot search & destroy and adaware se personal edition though.
Logged

Windows XP Pro SP 2
ASUS P5B-Plus LGA 775 Intel P965 Express
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
BFG Tech 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express
Western Digital Caviar 200GB 7200RPM SATA
FireKat*{MEOW}*
Officers
Advanced Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 413


Integrity First. Service before Self. Excellence.


« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2006, 01:23:29 AM »

yeah like kitkat said, stay away from those sites unless you know there reputable 
Logged


Smooth*{MEOW}*
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +127/-5
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3072


« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2006, 12:46:40 AM »

Hey Zero, I got an email from you with the subject: Hey TMENDRYGA, can you help me with this...

My email address is tmendryga@hotmail.com, I deleted it without opening it.  It used TMENDRYGA instead of Smooth or something, so that hinted to me that it was suspicious, possibly coming from an automated source.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 12:48:59 AM by Smooth-MEOW- » Logged



gfx
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
gfx
Jump to:  

 

TinyPortal v1.0 beta 4 © Bloc
gfx gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!