gfxgfx
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
logo
 
gfx gfx
gfxgfx
 
 
gfx gfx
gfx
27710 Posts in 3892 Topics by 276 Members - Latest Member: Psychobunny May 23, 2012, 02:28:02 PM
*
gfx* HomeForumHelpLoginRegistergfx
 

Recent Posts:

MEOW Donations

Please Support Us!

Please help support the website maintenance and game server costs.
Donate with PayPal!
May Goal: $40.00
Due Date: Jun 01
Total Receipts: $0.00
PayPal Fees: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Below Goal: $40.00
Site Currency: USD
 0%
 
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 27710
  • Total Topics: 3892
  • Online Today: 11
  • Online Ever: 412
  • (January 02, 2011, 07:43:56 AM)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 11
Total: 12
gfxgfx
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.       « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Email Fraud  (Read 350 times)
THEKATZ*{MEOW}*
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +76/-10
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4608


Aaackk!


WWW
« on: October 27, 2009, 11:50:32 PM »

Please take note -
_________________________________________________________________________ญญญญ___

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) has become aware of e-mails appearing to be sent from the FDIC that are asking recipients to download and open a "personal FDIC insurance file" to check their deposit insurance coverage. These e-mails are fraudulent and were not sent by the FDIC. The FDIC is attempting to identify the source of the e-mails and disrupt the transmission.

Currently, the subject line of the fraudulent e-mails includes the wording "check your Bank Deposit Insurance Coverage." The e-mails state:

 "You have received this message because you are a holder of a FDIC-insured bank account. Recently FDIC has officially named the bank you have opened your account with as a failed bank, thus, taking control of its assets."

The e-mails ask recipients to "visit the official FDIC website" by clicking on a hyperlink provided, which appears to be related to the FDIC and directs recipients to a fraudulent Web site. The Web site includes hyperlinks that appear to open forms. However, it is believed that clicking on the hyperlinks will cause an unknown executable file to be downloaded.

 

While the FDIC is working with the United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) to determine the exact effects of the executable file, recipients should consider the intent of the software as a malicious attempt to collect personal or confidential information, some of which may be used to gain unauthorized access to online banking services or to conduct identity theft. Financial institutions and consumers should NOT access the Web site or download the executable files provided on the Web site.

_________________________________________________________________________ญญญญ___
« Last Edit: October 27, 2009, 11:54:04 PM by THEKATZ*{MEOW}* » Logged


Your fate is coming ~
It will arrive swiftly and you should pray
it will be merciful



Post your vids!  Please subscribe
http://www.youtube.com/user/THE1KATZ

NighEve*{MEOW}*
Cleaning Lady
Officers
Veteran Member
*****

Karma: +97/-31
Online Online

Posts: 4088


« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2009, 12:39:43 AM »

Yep, got one or two of those. 
Also got one from 'FedX' that said the United 'Parochial' Service tracking number was 1285874646 blah blah.
For one from my 'email provider' that I needed to send them my password to get a new one because "some Phisihing emails were sent out."  I am in the process of changing my email and dropping the spam magnet I have.
 
Logged
gfx
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
gfx
Jump to:  

 

TinyPortal v1.0 beta 4 © Bloc
gfx gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!